Seeking a Japanese Language School in Tokyo…

…Or how to pick one among dozens and dozens of them?

It turned out to be useless to search on Google “best Japanese Language School” and scroll, reading those forums or blogs of those young people who came to Japan as English Teacher or got a Visa by applying to those aforementioned schools.

I just pick three schools that do not offer Visa sponsorship, just to avoid a too young or unmotivated crowd.

So I tried a free 30 -minutes-trial lesson at the Kanda Gaigo Career College as around 4 students-class let me think that lessons would be more effective. There is no level assessment, so you have to pick yourself the one you want to try, knowing that it is possible to try several. Even if we were only 4 for the Japanese 2 (Elementary / Pre-intermediate), 2 of the students sailed through during the class, the other could not keep up and I was puzzled. The same 4 students tried the next level and there were the same issues. Focusing on conversation, this school is not for me. Next.

I carried on my quest, and tried Coto Academy in Iidabashi. One minute from the subway station and in quite new and modern premises, this school does not lack advantages. I was introduced to the institute, and to the different options of private and group lessons, then I had a level check and was advised to join the Intensive group class, each level being held every month. There is no trial lesson and as opposed to the first two, there are membership fees, 10,000 Yens unless you enroll for the 3 months intensive class. Group classes for my Beginner 2 level is based on Genki 2, and this one I know as I read some good review about it. Talking about reviews and the one I stumbled upon on Google, they are not very positive for non-beginner. I am the kind of making my own opinion, so I might try the group class in a couple of months, I still need to ponder for a while before taking the plunge.

I did not give up and tried another school, that also offers trial lesson. Further than the previous ones, Meguro Language Center is a bit smaller, but there was a level assessment, which was more promising. First I have to fill in an online form stating which grammar notions I already studied or not, then I had an interview onsite to determine in which class I could fit. MLC offers private and small group classes (2 to 4 students) and the best option for my case was to get an Intensive class: 3 lessons of 1,5 hour for 4 weeks because I could not attend the group lessons as my level was a bit too high for the High-Beginner 1 and too low for the High-Beginner 2. The textbook they use is Japanese for Busy People, which I have never heard of before, so I do not know how good it is. On the bright side, the school has its own worksheets. The trial lesson of 45 minutes was with the teacher I would be assigned if I sign up for the class. The teacher used MLC worksheet to cover the programme of the first chapter of Japanese for Busy People vol.2, which I found nice and clear. I decided to apply for the intensive course I was recommended.

 

To be continued…

 

3 thoughts on “Seeking a Japanese Language School in Tokyo…

Leave a comment